Why always optimize landing pages?

19 12 2007

Sometimes people ask me why landing pages are such popular targets for optimization and testing. Why not optimize a home page? A product page?

Actually, we can optimize those kinds of pages, but almost all businesses come to us with a landing page that needs help. Beyond the demand for landing page testing though, is the fact that landing pages inherently are fit for testing. Let me explain.

Widemile LPO Landing Page
One of Widemile’s landing pages

The strength of multivariate and split testing is in pulling out the best page possible for what you want to do. With a homepage you have multiple things you want to do (e.g. show your products, company history, customer service, get people to spend X minutes browsing) and with a product page you are typically working with a CMS template for your whole site. Those factors complicate things a bit since you have to figure out what counts as improvement for the homepage and for the product page, you have to work with a CMS system and make changes that improve the majority of products pages using that template.

These things are not impossible to do or even difficult in many situations, but a landing page is usually totally independent of everything and has only one goal.

In a technical sense, a landing page is more simple to deal with. In a measurement sense you only need to improve one metric, the conversion. With a landing page, we don’t have to make copy and creative that works okay for all situations, we simply make copy and creative that is optimal for one situation.

This makes testing really fun and easy, since you can test and find out who your audience really is and what causes them to convert.

Now that I’ve answered this question, in the future I’ll move onto a more interesting post: Why you should optimize everything else too.


Actions

Information

7 responses

22 12 2007
BillyWarhol

I Laffed I was reading Top Rank’s Big List + I spotted my Blog had WON something*

Turns out it was a different Billy’s Blog!

Congrats Billy! Billy ;))

Peace*

12 06 2013
Silvia

I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours today, but I never found any interesting article
like yours. It’s lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the web might be a lot more helpful than ever before.

20 06 2013
nyc orthodontics

Hello! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
Does building a well-established website like yours require a large amount of
work? I’m completely new to running a blog but I do write in my journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and thoughts
online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new
aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

20 06 2013
Burlington chiropractic

I’m not that much of a internet reader to be
honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Cheers

20 06 2013
toronto seo companies

Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate
your efforts and I am waiting for your further post thanks once again.

21 06 2013
www.moldremovalnj.org

Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it
and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this site.

21 06 2013
Seo Experts Toronto

Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in
accession capital to claim that I acquire actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
Any way I will be subscribing in your augment and even I achievement
you get right of entry to persistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

